beingselfish is considered a reason for job success? Give your opinion. Reasons with examples

If someone is selfish at his job then he might get promoted better than others. I believe that this is not true and there are many reasons behind that which will be examined further in the essay. To begin with, an individual cannot work as a team player if he only proceeds with his personal agendas at work. This can cause numerous drawbacks for a team and success is only determined when people get along with others at work and contribute in a positive way rather than only having interest in their individual plans. So, a person can never achieve success when his team lag behind all the targets set by their boss. For example, a team divides all of their job responsibilities among the workers to share their work load. If an individual fails to perform a task then other one have to take the responsibilty for his teammate's work otherwise it could lead to problems in the future. Thus, an organization fails to grow when a team lacks unity and prosperity never comes to that work place. Overall, an individual cannot succeed with that kind of mindset. Futhermore, if an individual's personal interests continues at work then it turns more totalitarian than a democratic workplace. The workplace will never be able to retain some of the talented employees at work if someone who is just selfish will be rewarded and others will find it discrimination to their hardwork and determination. Eventually, the self-centered individuals will never contribute towards the success of the firm. It could lead to the failure of a company. For instance, if a salesperson is selfish then he will never divide an equal share of profits between his colleagues and his company and their income will never rise and they could leave the company because of such behaviour. To conclude, the self-centered individuals do not have the ability to work as a team member and support other colleagues at work. Apart from this, it may turn a job site into an unrealistic and undemocratic in nature.