In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out abouthe history of their homes. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

The desire for knowledge is a very common trait, one that has enabled the discovery of new lands and led to scientific and medical progress. On a more personal level, people are becoming increasingly more interested in finding out about the provenance of their places of residence. Reasons for this could range from mere inquisitiveness to ensuring a sense of belonging and as such, verval enquiries of reviewing written documentation could be rewarding. Just like making ancestry connections through a DNA test, conducting research about one's home is usually done simply to satisfy idle curiosity. The reward of gaining knowledge for knowledge's sake is usually the rason given for delving into the past. Thebonus is that an interesting story attached to a property may bocome an tersting topic of converstion at a dinner party. Others thought have a deeper reason for digging into the history of their homes, namely that it provides them with a f eeling that they belong. For some, personalising a home by redecorating it or pasting photos on the walls is not enough as the lack of knowledge of previous resdidents does not permit for a completed feeeling of comfort. For example, my friednd friends boutht a house and she felt kindy funny. Then one day, she asked her neighbour about it and tha woman said,"A man was murdered there". So she decided that she would sell and move somewhere eles. Whatever the reason, research into the history of a home can be painstaking but rewarding. The most effective way is to engage neighbours and the local community in conversations. This would give residents a more personal background of their property, one which can be easily pictured. Failing this, local libraries and government databases may have more information. The internet too can help it this regard with previous real estate listings for the property. To sum up, this growing interest in learing about one's homeis usually the premise of and inquistive mind or for those who wish to feel one with their homes. With the help of the local community and reading material, this could be achieved.