Most cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to massive increase in population. This has lead to a general decline in the quality of life in the city area, as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted. Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solution to this problem.

The luxurious life in major cities attracted a lot of people. Consequently, overcrowding and pollution ruins the well-being of the occupants and their environment. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why there is continuous increase in the population, at the same time, providing measures of how it can be controlled. To begin with, the surge in urban population is a result of poor birth control and urbanization. The party life in the cities involves drugs and alcohol subsequently resulting in unprotected sex. This results in unwanted pregnancy and uncontrolled birth rate. For example, the city of New York demonstrated the highest birth rate as revealed in a recent study. Furthermore, availability of advance education and way of life has attracted individuals from rural areas. For instance, a survey revealed that 80% of people moving into the city was to seek better education. However, there are effective solutions that can be put in place to suppress the problem. Starting a family planning campaign can reduce incidence of unplanned pregnancy which will subsequently decrease the reproduction rate. For instance, placing of condoms readily available in hotels and nightclubs makes choices for partners to prevent unexpected fertilization. Additionally, increasing the cost of living will discourage families in rural areas from moving into developed cities. For example, the expensive cost of accommodation in Sydney has caused people to choose Melbourne for settlement as shown on a national poll. In conclusion, a decline in quality of life in developed areas is a consequences of crowding and pollution. The growth is related to lack of birth control and urbanization. Increasing cost of living and establishing family planning measures can settle these problems.