Computer and A.I technology are increasingly being used for online education. Can artificial intelligence enhance the learning experience? Is this a positive or negative development?

Online education is witnessing an increasing use of A.I technology and computers. Additionally, artificial intelligence can greatly aid students in gathering resources for study along with brainstorming for ideas, however I believe excessive utilization of A. I will result in a passive attitude of learning for students. It must be acknowledged that robots are one of the best multi-tasking tools. Along with artificial intelligence, computers are great at processing and giving information. This means that students can widely take advantage of its functions to come up with ideas they find difficult to understand. Additionally, those ideas can be explained thoroughly if it is given to the computer to analyze. As a result, these tools have become widely spread to help students in writing essays and doing homework. For example, Chat GPT has more than 75.000 users, and half of them are students looking for solutions to their difficult questions. However, teachers are finding the use of these technologies annoying and may possibly have an effect on the students ’ attitude of learning. In most cases, artificial intelligence users such as students often feel dependent on the tool. As a consequence, although their grades might improve, their overall understanding of the academic subjects may suffer serious problems. For instance, a survey done on the knowledge of students in one university in London states that 80% of those who use Chat GPT have not understood the subject but still pass with the minimum score. In conclusion, artificial intelligence and computers may be a great use for students who want idea on how to solve their problems. However, relying on these tools may have negative effects leading to a passive attitude of learning for students.