Environmental problems are becoming a global issue, and therefore, some people suggest that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The decision to solve environmental issues using a global- scale solution has been growing recently. However, I completely disagree with that notion since the policy to tackle environmental problems should be started at the individual levels before it can be brought up to the global scale. Moreover, adopting the issue into a global scale will be ineffective. To begin with, the culminating environmental issues actually emerge from the individual- scale problems. For example, the excessive amount of non-biodegradable litres is primarily due to the rising usage of plastic that is still prevalent among individual shoppers. Another one is the high prevalence of the emitted carbon dioxide and sulfur gases to the atmosphere that have been caused by the soaring usage of personal vehicles. In fact, those individual-based problems; however, still fail to be tackled by some municipalities in several countries. A recent report by the Guardian reveals that the amount of plastic litres in the United Kingdom reaches its peak at 2022 for almost 8.9 million rubbish, although the country already impose regulations for disposing or burying their waste. Moreover, the heatwave phenomena that hit the United Kingdom several months ago is also reported prompted from the failure of the governments to discipline their citizens to limit the option of using personal motorcars as the sole option to transport. Reflecting from those events, it can be seen that the environmental issues on invidiual basis are still at their bare minimum to be handled properly by authorities. Another reason that makes me disagree is because trying to overcome the issue on the global scale will be ineffective. Due to the complicated bureaucracy, several global projects that have been proposed by some countries to overcome environmental issues eventually fail to be conducted. Take, for example, the proposed plan of geo-engineering projects to by Canada that have been postponed for five years since 2017. Through the extended interviews with several Canadian NGOs, the plausible reason for the belated implementation is prompted by the complex requirements that have to be fulfilled by the initatiors such as collecting signs from at least 100,000 locals alongside with the written reasons behind their willingness to support the project. After the signature collection, they have to upload it on some authorised database and wait for the approval by local authorities, before get an official sign from the local mayor and local parliaments, which means they must be encountered with the long-awaited process before the project is officially launched. From that condition, it can be argued that to bring environmental issues on the global scale will consume time and resources because it should go through some ineffective process. In conclusion, although some people thinks that environmental issues should be tackled by a global-based solution, I completely disagree with that notion. It is because the problem on the individual scale still face some failures to be handled properly. Moreover, trying to solve the issue globally will be ineffective.