With the widespread use of the Internet, more people choose to work or study from home. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays as the internet has been widely used around the globe, many people opt to work from home or even take courses via the internet. Although solely working or studying from the distance via the internet connection can cause mental stress, I support the view that it can reduce the cost for commuters and students. On the one hand, long-tern distance education and work will putting more pressure on mental health, it is because it loses the touch of human. Social interaction is essential for maintaining a healthy mental status, whereas communicating via the internet completely can disconnect individuals from their wider society which may negatively impact on their social lives and cause the sense of isolation. For example, during the Covid-19 pandamic, the number of workers and students who have been diagnosed with the depression surged the historical high, as the face-to-face communication is strictly prohibited. However, this cannot overshadow the benefit brought by this change. On the other hand, working and studying on the internet has greatly saved people's money, energy and time. As the commuting is not required for distance workers and learners, which will drastically save their money and time. With the stable network connection, people are able to turn on their electronic devices at their home and work or study directly without worrying about missing the public transport or paying for car fuel. In conclusion, even though working and learning solely rely on the internet may cause mental issue, I believe that it benefits people more as it greatly saves more money and time due to its convenient nature.