Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Smartphones has become a popular toy for our young generation meanwhile, it has taken most of our children's time which creates a lot of concern. While some state that it has positive effect, others argue that it has more shortfalls. In this essay, I will discuss why youth spend hours on mobile gadgets, at the same time, specifying why I believe they have drawbacks on the development of young adults. To begin with, children enjoy playing on smartphone for various reasons. The popularity of mobile apps attracted the interest of children whereby they spend most of their times on them. For instance, TikTok, facebook and video makers are favourite apps, which students use on a daily basis. Mind blowing online games has increased popularity. PUBG is a mobile game where our youngs enjoy playing while talking to each other at the same time. Despite all these reasons, sticking to smartphones has a detrimental effect on a child's development. While spending lengthy hours on smartphone, current generations tend to loss their social skills. This is a consequence of distracted attention from performing normal activities of daily living such as house chores and outdoor duties. Additionally, students who are interested on their mobile phones become less active physically. Most develop obesity and become physically unfit. In conclusion, attractive mobile apps and games causes prolong usage of phones by youth. I believe this produces diminishing effect on them through loss of social activity and negative health impact.