In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the advantages of video surveillance outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the installation of video cameras in public areas has increased to reduce crime. However, some people believe that these measures restrict our personal rights. This trend has both merits and shortcomings, and I think that the merits outweigh the shortcomings. To begin with, video surveillance is highly beneficial in reducing the crime rate. To be specific, offenders can be effectively captured by a police officer through numerous CCTVs all over the city. Moreover, when people are aware of the cameras, they are reluctant to commit a crime due to the anxiety of being punished. To illustrate, a notable study conducted by Korea University revealed that a city with more than 10,000 security cameras showed a 10 times lower offence rate compared to cities with less than 4,000 cameras. Hence, installing video cameras is overly favourable to lower the crime rate. Furthermore, it is also helpful in finding a mission person or objects. For instance, it is possible to track back where the missing person went or the object was lost. In addition, a policeman can search for an old man with dementia via public cameras or get a clue about where one's belongings have gone. Indeed, video surveillance is truly advantageous as it suggests a guide to finding people in need and goods. To conclude, in many regions, the number of video cameras in public places is increasing. Although it can harm our individual freedom, I think the number of advantages overrides the disadvantages. Thus, the government should attract investment in installing more CCTVs.