Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care than ever before. What may be the primary reason for this? Is this positive or negative development?

The demand to beautify appearance has quite prevalent that prompts both men and women to apportion a significant amount of their earnings to buy beauty care products, which is caused by a changing trend in defining beauty, and from my perspective this situation can lead to a negative development since there is a likelihood people will have less self-confidence. The primary reason for this trend is a shifting definition of beautiful. It can be seen that these days, people categorise someone as a beautiful person not just solely on their personal characteristic but also their physical appearance, foreshortening the definition of beauty itself. Hence, it eventually make people compete each other to beautify their physical attributes by applying skincares or make-ups, resulting in their willingness to allocate a massive amount of expenditures to purchase those products. It can be seen through the phenomenon among Indonesian youths who are used to praise their friends beautiful, simply because they possess certain characteristics such as generous or kind. However, these days it is evident that they easily compliment someone as a beautiful person because they wear make-ups to cover their acne scars. Even though the massive purchasement of beauty care products can help people to improve their physical appearance in order to easily get social appraisals from others; however, I see this situation can bring negative developments. It is because it can make youths loss their self-confidence. A study from University of Indonesia has shown that when females are asked to not wear any make-up to schools, and rate their confidence levels in a five-rating scale survey, almost all of them give score 2, which means they are not confident if do not wear them. Thus, it can be argued that the trend of spending a lot of money in beauty care products is subliminally lowering people ’s confidence toward their own appearance. In conclusion, these days it is prevalent to see both men and women allocate a remarkable budget to purchase beauty care products due to a changing trend in defining beautiful. Regarding that phenomenon, I see that can bring a negative development, which specifically can make people lower their confidence levels.