The government’s investment in arts, music and theater is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some said the government should spend expenditure on public services instead of the cultural sector. To a small extent, I agree with this opinion. Public services are essential to maintain citizens' quality of life, however, it is not the reason that the officials should cut off their spending on arts. Public services provide physical support for residents, while art activities support people psychologically. Improvement on medical services can help people have a better health and longer life span. Cultural activities like arts, music and theater represents one region's history and culture. Provide more expenses on culture that has historical value can help residents have better understanding on the past. Take Hong Kong as an example, wall paintings in Kowloon City by a man, are protected by the Hong Kong Government, as they have history value to Hong Kong. Furthermore, high quality of artificial activities like music concerts attract tourists from other nations. For example, Taylor Swift held a concert in Singapore, it attracts many international fans of hers flew over there to see the concert, which stimulated Singapore's tourism. To conclude, I agree the government should invest more on the public sector than the art industry in a small extent.