Some people think that all universsity students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

In recent years, university students are no longer required to take a specific set of subjects and are instead given the freedom to customize their classes according to their interests. This sparks an ongoing debate about whether taking preferred subjects or enrolling in specialized courses has more benefits. Personally, a balance of both is required in order to achieve a bright future. On one hand, allowing students to study according to their interests can improve the overall academic experience. For the majority of university students, future career paths are unclear and may change over time as they gain more knowledge, so taking a diverse range of subjects can help them decide what they want to pursue as a career. Moreover, by doing so, they can develop skills that are essential for any occupation, such as time management and problem-solving. On the other hand, taking classes that are useful for a future career can also bring many benefits. The present job market is becoming more competitive, and specialization is crucial to remain competitive. By studying STEM subjects, university students are able to meet the requirements of their desired jobs. It also allows university students to become competitive applicants in the market, where technology and artificial intelligence is changing how jobs operate. In conclusion, while taking a variety of classes can help promote personal growth, taking ‘career-focused’ subjects can help a university student become more specialized in that area. A balance of both, where a university student learns what they will need for their preferred job, and takes a variety of classes to help with their personal understanding should be achieved