There are serious concerns about the sale and production of genetically modified food. Yet this is necessary if we are to meet the demands often increasing world population. Give your opinions on this.

As the world population rises, it is becoming more evident that unless we find ways of producing more food, we could be faced with a serious food crisis. It is often claimed that the only solution to this crisis is through genetically- modified food. Yet, in my opinion, there is no justification for developing farming methods that could harm human health and the environment. Scientists may be convinced that GM foods provide a quick solution to feeding the world's population. Through science, plants can be made to grow faster and a wider variety of crops can also be created. Although this means more food is being produced, the quality of this food could ultimately be detrimental to human health because of the unknown, long-term risks of genetic modification. In my view, this is one of the major reasons more people are buying organic food. Surely scientific progress should not disregard the long-term effects GM foods could have on health. However, it is also important to consider the issue of producing enough food, both at a local and global level. Many parts of the world, such as Africa, continue to experience famine and starvation. Therefore, there could be a case for saying that GM foods may help to reduce this food shortage. Certainly, in many parts of the world, people are forced to rely on international aid for food. Yet, I would argue that GM foods are not the solution. This is something that needs to be tackled in the political arena and governments may have to put more money into alternative ways of producing foods. In conclusion, while we need to meet the demands of an increasing world population, GM foods are not the solution. I am certain that unless governments look at alternative methods of food production, the harmful health and environmental effects caused by GM foods may prove irreversible.