Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that the public funding should go into the public service sector rather than investing in the arts. I firmly agree with this idea because it makes people live a better life and helps deprived residents. First of all, investing in the public sector can improve the quality of services that people receive, it is because, with insufficient funds, many public services are struggling with underfunded situations, which impact the quality of services negatively. For instance, many not-for-profit organisations, such as community engagement, disability support and aged care services have to shut down or reject new applications due to the lack of government funding. Hence, it is crucial for the authorities to allocate money to the public sector in order to maintain the above services to the residents. Another reason why the government investment should be distributed to public services is that it helps to narrow the gap between the haves and have-nots. The disadvantaged group is usually facing financial hardship which hinders them from seeking help. However, with the funds from the government, many of the deprived people can enjoy the free-of-charge services without worrying about their financial status. For instance, free health care is available to low-income families in many European countries, as their governments distribute a large portion of the tax revenue into public services. In conclusion, it is wiser that government should invest in services to the public as it improves the living standard of the overall population and helps to close the gap between the rich and poor.