Some people think it's the government's responsibility to tackle environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes contended that the authorities are the ones in charge of dealing with environmental problems. Personally, I do not completely share such an approach, thinking that the onus is on both individuals and the government in terms of coping with environment deterioration. In my opinion, only collective efforts can lead to long-term effective results. On the one hand, the government holds the responsibility to provide guidance for the population, create laws and facilities aimed at improving environmental situation. Without the governmental impulse it is hardly possible to make a change. For instance, only authorities can oblige people to separately collect garbage and factories to recycle it. Therefore, the role of the government in tackling environmental issues is crucial. On the other hand, all individuals as a whole are supposed to be mindful about nature by adhering to sustainable practices and following the government ’s instructions. Currently, in the era of consumption, despite the authorities’ urging to produce less waste, many households overconsume various goods, thus, producing extra garbage harmful to the nature, and the government can hardly influence this. Only if people are conscious about their consumption patterns, will it be possible to improve the situation. Hence, without the collective action governmental initiatives at helping out nature are senseless. To sum up, dealing with environmental problems is a multi-faceted task, which requires both the government ’s and people’s actions. Hence, the responsibility is on everyone, with the government obliged to provide instructions and facilities, and individuals – to abide by the rules and act sustainably.