The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There's a serious situation in western society that the percentage of overweight children has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Because of that great number, more and more people start to fucus on this topic. A lot of reasons can lead to this circumstance. For example, the bad eating habits. Many children from western coutries are get used to eating junk food. Those junk food will accelerate the process of getting fat. Besides that, with modern technology sharply developing, more and more kids may choose to playing video games instead of going out for sports. Those unhealthy habits can cause a lot fat. Moreover, the lack of education can also cause that probelm. Without an awareness of the importance of keeping a healthy lifestyle, those children will never pay attention to their overweight, unless somebody remind them. What's more, a lack of sleep can also lead to the gain of weight. So what are the effects of being overweight? Firstly, it is certain that higher risks of getting serious health problems will exsist. Too fat means there will be a lot of fat around his or her blood vessel, which will press and then lead to heart disease. Secondly, it will harm mental health, too. Those people who are overweight will more easily to get depression or anxiety, and their self-confidence will be much lower than others. Those psychological problem are serious, as we all know. Moreover, overweight can link to the satisfacation of sleeping. While breathing during sleep, those who are too fat will be much more difficult and cause more health problems. In conclusion, getting fat can be prevent, and should be prevent due to those harms. We need to pay more attention to this issue and help those children to have a much more normaland healthy life, like others. Government, schools and families all need to do something effective to influence western kids.