Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

There are widely differing views on the issue that students should study the majors that will be useful in the future, while others think that they should study whatever they like. I personally believe that majoring in what you like is the best desicion. One point which I believe to be absolutely is the fact that studying the subjects that a person does not like seems like a torture for them. And they have experienced this throughout their school years. And due to this reason they look forward to go to the university. If the same thing will happen in the university, too they may just quit their studies because it is not what they want from their lives. However, on the other side of the argument, it is way more logical to study the major that you will use in the future because otherwise it would be useless to spend so much money and time on something that you will not use throughout your life. What I mean by this is that there are some majors that appear useless such as acting because you can learn all the skills that you need by going to the courses instead of a university. To sum up, by taking into consideration all the above-mentioned reasons, majoring in what you want will give the goal to live and you will study the subjects with great pleasure, however majoring in technology, science or other majors that are considered to be vital for the development of mankind can be quite boring for some students, so they may just quit their studies.