Write about the following topic: Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Compared to natural foods, processed foods usually cause higher level of fluctuations in cholesterol. And among the long list, processed sugar is one of the main items that researches show to have negative impacts on health, and thus, is important for one to cut down on sugar. It is agreed that elevating the price of sugar -made products can decrease one ’s will to consume the same amount of sugar. This statement will be analyzed by bringing up the price sensibility of processed foods and how the extra profits should be used to improve this condition. Firstly, different types of groceries come with different kinds of price sensibility. For the one that are higher, indicating a slightest change in price can result in huge difference in demand. For example, assume that my favorite chocolate bar has increased by 2 Taiwanese dollars, and now is more expensive than other similar bars, I would prefer to buy the cheaper one, because I am not willing to pay 2 more dollars just for the specific item. In this case, I would consider lower the frequency of buying from two times to once per week. Thus, increasing the price can help with limiting the sugar intake from the consumer behavior dimesion. Secondly, higher price means higher profits to companies. As for the enterprises that has benefit from this situation, instead of doing nothing, the extra profits should be allocated properly. For instance, making advertisements that conveys the right message and concepts to public. Another example could be holding activities the raise the awareness of sugar intake. All the actions should be either educational or avocational to influence consumers positively. Therefore, the excess amount of income should be put into good use and make impacts to the community. To sum up, increase price in sugary products can encourage people to less sugar consuming. It is considered an effective approach result from the high price sensitivity characteristic and the followed up actions that improves the overall acknowledge towards sugar. Moreover, it is suggested that with all the action taken, sugar related issues can be improved.