Some people believe that studying for a university degree is better for an individuals career than gaining work experience immediately after highschool. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

While few individuals prefer pursuing higher education is better for a student’s career than gaining work experience after graduating from high school. I partially agree with the statement. On the one hand, majority of the students opt for continuing higher education after high school because by the time they finish university and start a career, they are still young and fresh in the field. The current financial stability plays a major role in decision making about the student’s career path. the society also plays a vital role. For example, 75% of students graduating from high school in India choose to immediately pursue university education because it is considered normal in the society over taking a gap year. On the other hand, student opting for work experience after school have higher chances of learning the skills required for their respective field, it also gives them the opportunity to make a clear decision on the path they want to select. It helps the students at a young age to gain confidence and teach them the ethics of workspace making them less likely to anxious during their first job. In a recent article from The Times of India, it was stated that, students with prior work experience in the field have better work life balance and tend to work better. in conclusion, the choice between working or pursuing higher education should be given to the student’s comfort. Both paths offer great advantages and disadvantages depending on the needs of the student. Consulting seniors and experienced workers in the field of interest should be considered before making decision. Students should be given counseling regarding the matter before finishing high school diploma which can help making the decision faster.