There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Young individuals are persuaded to perform better in academic works in todays context, part of the society commonly believed that academically non related areas such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school curriculum to accommodate and prioritised academic work.In my opinion, this leads to unhealthy young generation with lack of practical skills to strive in the society. Thus, this writer wholeheartedly disagrees with the captioned statement. First and fore most, lack of skills and knowledge in physical education prones the individual with less interest in exercises and less physical activity. Lack of exercises leads the individual into obesity and more prone to non communicable diseases, who ends up as an unhealthy individual. For instance, according to a research done by the university of Peradeniya 8 yrs ago, more than 20% of school children under age 12 had type 2 Diabetes mellitus, and they pointed out the fact, that children who had the disease did not participate in any sport activities in the school, and this key research lead the Sri Lankan authorities to make physical education as a compulsory subject to ordinary level students in Sri Lanka. Hence physical education at young age is very important. Furthermore, subjects like cookery can cultivates life skills and carrier opertunities for the youngsters. In the modern contemporary era, education should focus the independence of the student, while vocational subjects help in doing so. Otherthan that, it can creates future pathways for job oppertunities in cookery industry, for whom not intrested in academic carriers. For instance, the famouse chef Pabilis Silva once told in a TV interview that he understood his passion in cooking from his school cookery teacher. Thus, vocational subjects have a huge impact in once life. In conclusion, theoritical and academic learning is important for young generation, but subjects like physical education and cookery help to have better health in adult life, while having good social and carrier skills to strive better in the society. Hence, this writer is in a strong notion that non academic subjects should teach at the school.