With the development of social media, more and more young people are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations.  What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

Nowadays, the rapid evolution of the Internet has affected almost all people, especially children and teenagers, which has led for them to easier way of using social media. This phenomenon may cause unexpected and disadvantageous situations, as young people are not controlled during conversations on specialized websites with their friends. In this essay I will propose some solutions on how to prevent unsafe incidents. Let us begin with describing social media such as the best and most convenient way of meeting with friends for your generation. The newest survey has figured out that adolescents have become addicted with the chatting platforms and, consequently, do not worry about danger from strangers on these websites due to not face to face interactions. The conversation with, for example, scammer may cause scare or anxiety in a child. From my point of view, engineers of such communication applications should make a parents control system on children’s accounts, in order to alarm about weird words or phrases from unknown people in chats. Therefore, a young person will be protected from unwanted influences. Moreover, these days, more and more harmful advertisements appear in the chat platforms, that might cause unpleasant effect on children’s mind. Therefore, it is necessary to use Internet in the right way, so schools should provide educational lessons about possible negative situations which may appear on the Internet. The main benefit of these educational programs is that in the future people will be aware of such things and avoid unwanted incidents. In conclusion, although young people face various of potentially dangerous situations, such as scammers or harmful advertisement, while using social media, these problems may be tackled with the help of chat platforms engineers and special educational courses at school.