The efficient functioning of society is based on rules and laws. Society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Society is a collection of individuals. Each individual is unique and have different beliefs. The co-operation is necessary for a mindful society. The common rules and laws ensure minimizing friction and increasing efficiency of this collective process. On one hand, freedom of choice is a great concept. This helps to incorporate individuals with various skills to improve and contribute rather than forcing them to follow others. For example, if a society is struggling with its current fuctioning, freedom to invent helps to bring a solution to the negotiation table which improves the quality of the overall functioning. The freedom of speech leads to expression against oppression and injustice. Appreciating individuals for their uniqueness will increase the overall mental well-being of individuals. On the other hand freedom of choice can lead to negative consequences. Freedom to spend their earning in their own way might lead to lack of self discipline. This might end up in an addiction crisis. Inventions are great but certain times resources might get wasted without restrictions. Expressing your own views about others belief might lead to polarization and violence between communities. The freedom to be who you are is a double edged sword. The individual should take sole responsibility for the negative outcomes inflicted upon society. The laws should be carefully analyzed and freedom should be given up to a certain limit where individual acts doesn't interfere the social sphere.