Although abuse of the system is inevitable, social welfare payments are essential to protect the rights that citizens have to a guaranteed minimum income in a democratic society. Do you agree or disagree?

In some countries, government has provided welfare payment for people who are unemployed especially those who got laid off. Some people believe that, welfare companies should make unemployed people to work for them in exchange for the money they receive. In my opinion, paying people for doing nothing is not rational, except for those who have disabilities or suffer from a health problem. In this essay, I am going to discuss this issue and give give my personal point of view. I would like to start my discussion by writing about the opposed idea. These people claim that welfare companies may exploit the unemployed people by asking them to do labouring jobs without enough payment. Moreover, many of those people have some professional skills that can be used in other relevant sectors. On the other hand, those who are in favour of making unemployed people work, believe there are several potential advantages to that. Firstly, the main purpose of working is not just earning income. Having a job can potentially improve self-esteem and self-confidence therefore, people will feel much better about themselves. Thirdly, the experiences gained provide other opportunities for the future careers. Accordingly, being employed is beneficial for them and will give them a sense of purpose. To conclude, based on what is discussed above, i believe that, going to work has lots of significant advantages. It means that making unemployed people work is a good idea.