Some people think that criminals should be given longer term imprisonment, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A handful of individuals believe that the crime rate could be reduced by putting criminals behind bars for a longer duration. I strongly disagree with the statement while punishing offenders is important, it is not the only way to improve violations. Instances of murder, robbery, and theft are increasing at an exponential rate though the offenders are punished and imprisoned that does not help in lowering the crime rate. One of the primary reasons for increasing wrongdoing is poverty since basic human needs are not met, they get inclined towards committing a crime. Why developing countries like Pakistan & Iran have such high voilations, it is due to people not having access to basic amenities such as food, education, housing and so on. If the government works on reducing the social economic imbalances by providing with basic amenities then crime rates can definitely go down. Moreover, there is a direct correlation between unlawful act and unemployment. For instance, developing nations always show 60% higher crime rates than developed nations as the economy cannot sustain employment to all individuals. Since people do not have a regular source of income, they get easily swayed to commit such gruesome offenses as they need finances to sustain the needs of thier family. Sweden has very low crime rate due to low unemployment rate of 5%. In conclusion, increased illegal acts are a true representation on how well a nation is doing economically and socially. Providing better employment opportunities and taking care of the poor can lead to lower crime rates