The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the science. However, the most essential target of science is to prompt the life of human beings. This is a controversial issue. From my perspective, I don’t think such a given argument can be justified. To begin with, it is true that science can promote our life since it is convenient for us to live. For example, there are variety of transportation at present which ere not exist before. It save a lot of time and provide substitute methods to travel with the development of science. When residents go to work, if the car accident happen, so they may change the way of commuting by underground. Therefore, science can change our life and let us live better. Nevertheless, science also can explore something that we don’t know now. This is the same critical as improving people’s lives. When we find out some truthes or priciples, this is necessary for people either, especially for the future. For instance, some scientist research the universe, which can not enhance the quality of life, but it is crucial fo people. As a result, exploring the unknow such as the universe is as important as promote human’s lives. As far as I am concerned science can increase our quality of life, but it is rather reckless to jump to a conclusion that it also can explore some unknown things.