In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travels to large shopping centre and mall to do shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

Lately, we observed how private, local shops are withdrawn by big chains. Certainly, small businesses should be supported by locals. However, most of people cannot afford higher prices set by private entrepreneurs. To begin with, in malls people can find multiple items they want to purchase. In consequence, they safe time and money. For example, traveling through many destinations requires to sit for a long hours in the car, as well as, it will be more expensive. Nowadays, people value their free time more than anything. They prefer to resign from any form of wasting it. Therefore, it is so popular to take the advantage of this phenomenon. On the other hand, some owners of small stores suffer from the lack of clients. Despite selecting high quality products to their company, they cannot meet modern customers expectations. Moreover, they have to deal with limited resources namely, people, suppliers and capital. Consequently, they are not able to be competitive. With a time, they need to close their firm and find a new job. Such a difficult time in their lifes can bring them for instance, financial instability, mental breakdowns, and be challenging for the rest of the family. To sum up, development of the shopping industry caused bankruptcy of many local shops. Some benefits from it by decreasing spendings and gaining additional spare time. However, this event has also some cons, since those who cannot attract clients need to change the industry. Overall, it influences positively most of the society.