The government should provide free public transport facilities 24/7 to reduce traffic congestion. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that a free public transport system is crucial for dwellers in major cities and provides them with the convenience to travel. However, it is not necessary to launch a 24/7 idea to reduce the number of cars on the roads as it will bring many drawbacks to those cities instead. In my opinion, I disagree with this viewpoint and the reasons will be outlined before a conclusion is reached. To begin with, data from researchers all around the world have shown for decades that most of the public transport facilities are being used in rush hours, at 7.00-8.00 and 17.00-18.00. According to these data, it means there is no use in opening them at night time of the day and it is a waste of money which the government need to pay for the staff in each facility. Moreover, during the night time, some staff such as a bus driver might fall asleep while driving and cause a lot of damage to public properties or in the worst case, it directly affects not only pedestrians but also other drivers leading to a tragedy. Secondly, it is a waste of energy in order to turn engines on and maintain them on that stage for a long time even if there are no passengers. For instance, sky or metropolitan trains waste their energy by turning on the lights along with an A/C as same as the buses which natural gas is used are running on their routes without passengers will twice the pollution in our world. Additionally, developing countries,which do not have renewable resources and their main power comes from coal or natural gas, need to generate more power to supply their transport facilities and a combustion of their power generating leads to an air pollution problem. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint as it only have negative impacts. The government should find other ways to support commuters to reduce traffic congestion. By introducing a campaign to convince dwellers to use the public transport system or informing car's owners of the bad effects of using individual cars.