People nowadays spend their free time less actively than in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that people are less active than they were in the past. There are points for and against this idea, but overall I agree with the statement. In this essay, I explain why. In my opinion, the main reason why people are less active is computers. Several years ago, we went to speak to our colleagues. We walked to their desk or office. Now, we send an email without getting up from our seats. Even our free time is less active because we play computer games and go on social media. Before people walked to a cafe’ to meet their friends or they went to their house. Nowadays, though, we chat online at home. In the twentieth century, children did many activities. In today’s world, parents are scared for their children’s safety, so they prefer to keep them at home. For many, it is easier to stay at home than to go out. On the other hand, some physical activities are becoming more popular. There are more gyms than there used to be and it is fashionable to go running or to the gym. In my view, though, only some people do these things. Most people join a gym but they do not go regularly. However, they never stop playing computer games and watching TV! Also, these days everyone takes their driving test as soon as possible and starts driving. In the past, young people walked and went by bus. To sum up, I agree that people are less active in their free time compared with the past. Now, people are lazier and less fit than they were before.