In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate with people via the internet and live without face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development, in your opinion?

In contemporary society, the internet enables people to perform their daily activities such as shopping, working, and communicating with others without any face-to-face contact. From my perspective, this is mostly a positive development, while there is a drawback that will be discussed. In the first place, the benefits of this phenomenon are multifaceted. Primarily, the internet makes our lives more convenient, allowing us to spend more time staying with our family and friends. Specifically, people can shop without the need to go to a supermarket or department store in person and commute for a long time to go to work; consequently, they can save a multitude of time traveling on roads to accompany the people around us. For instance, a white-collar worker in a multinational company can just work from home instead of relocating to another country, departing from his hometown and family. Additionally, for companies and entrepreneurs, working online helps them set aside funds for designing and manufacturing products rather than the construction of office facilities, which favors to a large extent the development of small and medium-sized enterprises. Notwithstanding, we cannot deny that this trend has a negative effect: people tend to lost in the virtual world. For instance, while most people take advantage of the internet to work and study, some people just indulge in video games. Consequently, this isolation from the real world is the root cause of severe mental and physical health issues, such as depression, insecurity, and obesity, which is a common phenomenon we have observed in recent years. In conclusion, getting our job done without any in-person contact is primarily a positive development for the two main reasons outlined above. Nevertheless, it is not a perfect trend without any disadvantages.