The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Many people believe that, considering the relative security in today's globe compared to a century ago, it is wasteful to devote enormous quantities of money to the military. I disagree with this viewpoint, though, as it is still essential to have a balanced military presence in the international arena. Governments spend billions on their armed forces as a precaution against possible foreign power dominance challenges. Maintaining national security requires the military's capabilities to be continuously developed. A country would be weaker and less advantaged than others if its armed forces and equipment were not updated. Regular developments in armament force governments to adapt in order to remain relevant and retain deterrence. For example, the weak military might of many African nations makes them dependent on assistance from some Asian states, making it difficult for them to fight on their own. In conclusion, in order for countries to demonstrate their power and continue to play an important part in the international community, they must prioritize investing in their armed forces. Strengthening one's armed forces is preferable to running the risk of being sidelined internationally. In order to protect their interests in a constantly changing global environment, nations must make prudent investments to ensure their influence and security.