Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of imported foods from all around the world. Does this advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

It is generally accepted that imported foods are much more popular than local products in many supermarkets in the modern period. This essay will demonstrate the different aspects of the benefits of this situation throughout the following paragraphs. First and foremost, it is undeniable that the imported vegetables and fruits have better quality than the local. This is because the overseas industries have a good quality of the systems of how to harvest or keep their products fresh. Moreover, people prefer to consume international products because they trust in every system from the companies especially it is 100% safe and clean, which will allow them to live longer with a better health. On the other hand, local products have become less popular in these days because of the agricultural chemicals that they use in farming areas. In Thailand, there are vast of news about how dangerous of the foods. This is because they do not care about their health, they care only about their income, that is why they prefer to use chemical things to grow the plants. When the plants consume this kind of drug, they will grow quicker and they will be more tasty. For instance, the farmer uses this drug to make the watermelon bigger than the organic one. In conclusion, all the reasons mentioned above provide both benefits and drawbacks of the local and imported products. From my point of view, I would suggest the local farmer to improve the quality of their foods to reach the same level as the international ones by stopping using the chemical stuffs. In addition, people will change their mind to support their own home foods rather than choosing the international ones.