Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and preparatory methods.

In this fast-pace era, people seem to live in a busy life filled with work and do not have much time to prepare food for their families and also for themselves. Faced with the time limitations from work and study, they often turn to convenience foods. However, I believe that no account do convenience foods can replace traditional food and traditional method of food preparation. Convenience foods increasingly popular because of their prices and sophisticated appearance. Moreover, they help people saving time in obtaining food, preparation, and cleaning up. It is high reccommended for people who are extremely busy, lazy, or people who cannot cook or do not have enough time to prepare food usually take these ready-to-eat food as their main meals. Although these convenience foods are less time -consuming, they tend to have lower nutritional values and some may not ensure their food safety and hygiene regulation, since no one, except the food processing plant, know the exact ingredients that are used inside a box of convenience food. I do not believe that convenience food will eventually replace traditional foods. Firstly, on anniversaries and traditional holidays, people have to cook traditional food with the traditional method of preparation. For instance, during the Vietnamese Tet holidays, Banh Chung and Banh Tet are compulsory on Vietnamese people's tables, and no convenience food is allowed to be worshiped for the ancestors. Secondly, nutrition is another problem. Some foods in convenience stores are way too much sugar, fat, or calories which makes people become obese, not to mention the lack of nutrition. Last but no least, traditional foods are the badge of national identity. For example, when someone mention about Pizza, people will think of a featured dish of Italian people, or Sushi will remind them to Japanese food. Not only the name, the history and the way of prepare a dish make the traditional food becomes unique. As a result, traditional foods cannot be replaced by any other food to fully express the meaning of a country's culture. In conclusion, although convenience foods are popular nowadays with advantages that can help people save up time, they cannot fully renovate traditional foods and traditional methods of preparing foods.