It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Differentiating between proper and improper actions and decisions is crucially important for youngsters. Thus, it is believed that penalizing children for inappropriate behaviour is efficient. I totally disagree with the given opinion, as it might ruin parent-child relationship, which will lead to mental health issues in a child and open dialogue is immeasurably more authoritative. First of all, health problems occur due to family situation in 90 per cent of the cases, as it was stated by the specialists. Moreover, it is common for youth to make mistakes since they start to acknowledge life and explore something new, punishing them for learning might be unnecessary. Punishment will kill their desire to develop and improve, they will be scared to share with their experience with parents. For example, when a child feels afraid of being punished for admitting a mistake, they feel isolated and misunderstood. However, guidance and support are still needed. As a caring parent, person cannot let go of the situation that could be harmful for an infant. Discipline can be kept by genuine interaction and direct conversation. Studies have shown that children who feel supported and understood by their parents are more likely to exhibit positive behaviors and have better mental health outcomes compared to those who experience frequent punishment for their mishaps. Additionally, this can help to address the underlying cause of the misbehavior and spark off the obstacle. For instance, a study of over 500 families revealed that children who reported feeling comfortable discussing their feelings with their parents were less likely to engage in risky actions. In conclusion, it is evident that punishment leads to more harm than benefit. Constructive discipline strategies can nurture child’s emotional well-being and empower to navigate life challenges with confidence.