In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree?

Nowadays, because of the expansion of consuming fast food by people, health risks have risen dramatically. While some countries exert significant amounts of taxes on this type of food, I personally disagree with the idea that the authorities of national economy must receive heavy taxes from junk food suppliers. Some people argue that imposing heavy taxes on the providers of this type of food may help go down the dangerous diseases caused by excessive of junk food. They introduce a number of arguments for their point of view. First of all, according to their perspective, exerting large amounts of taxes can lead to a decline in the production of chain restaurants. A decrease in supply in turn leads to a decrease in consumption and subsequently, health risks such as obesity, cardiovascular diseases, hypertension and diabetes will be reduced. Secondly, this tax policy may encourage lots of fast food suppliers to change their businesses and be motivated to launch producing healthy food such as vegetarian food. With the prevalence of healthy food restaurant chains, people’s interest and desire to eat healthy food and follow a balanced diet will increase. As a result, the society will suffer less from the diseases resulting from the consumption of sugar, fat and carbohydrates. While, there is no doubt that the increasing consumption of fast food has resulted in a huge number of health problems among people, I personally disagree with the idea that governments must impose heavy taxes on the suppliers of this kind of food. There are some reasons for this point of view. Fast food is one of the most prosperous food production industries that offers a large number of job opportunities and play an important role in the prosperity national, regional and local economies. Exerting higher taxes on fast food suppliers may lead to the failure of relevant businesses, lose of job opportunities and ultimately, harmful consequences for national and local businesses. Therefore, this tax policy could not be an effective solution and its negative outcomes will be more than its positive results. In my opinion, governments can mitigate the negative effects of eating too much junk food on people’s health through various effective ways. Firstly, they can aware fast food consumers about the detrimental impacts of eating too much calories, sugar, carbohydrates and fats on their health through influential advertisements. Secondly, national governments, especially, health care authorities should obligate fast food suppliers to use healthy ingredients and meat sanitary practices during preparing their products. In conclusion, although eating too much fast food can result in many dangerous diseases, there are some effective ways to avoid their hazardous influences on people’s health, such as informative advertising campaigns by national authorities about their health consequences and compelling their providers to meet health and sanitary standards. These methods might be more effective than imposing high taxes.