The role of prisons should be to punish criminals who have committed serious crimes. Training courses and education offered to prisoners are a waste of taxpayers' money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that spending money on education for criminals is a waste of budget. On the other hand, we should allow punishing people in jails. I entirely disagree with this statement because I strongly believe that learning play a pivotal role in humans change. To begin with, there are many organizations that give jobs to prisoners. They teach them how to deal with responsibilities and take accountability for mistakes. Many of them notice that living in society require to follow rules and after all it brings more benefits to individuals as well. For instance, they may gain the good image among peers and improve their social life. It was proven that people's happiness depends on if we are accepted among society or not. Moreover, one of the reasons behind being a criminalist is the lack of knowledge. Most of people break the law because of the belief that they have no better option. For instance, they struggle to find any job that would allow them to earn minimum salary. They usually have no interests and hobbies. What is more, they had no opportunities to find what they like when they were young. However, The education offered to prisoners seems to help them find their strengths. To sum up, people who committed significant crimes have an access to trainings. Nevertheless, there is a doubt whether taxpayers should pay for that or it is better to penalize victims. I entirely support to teach people how to behave even though they made a serious mistake in the past.