Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Parental scope of responsibilities has been a debatable topic for years. While some people argue that parents have the responsibility to educate their children on moral sense and norms in society, others claim that parental responsibility is confined to providing a safe home and unbringing their children. This essay discusses both points of view and states my opinion as well. To begin with, some think that parents should just focus on supplying some basic needs such as food, shelter and love. Due to cultural differences, people may have different definitions of right and wrong. Taking individualism and collectivism culture as an example, in some countries such as the USA, it is right to prioritise personal goals over those of the group's. Additionally, religious norms play a significant role in shaping cultural perceptions of right and wrong. For instance, in Islamic countries, consuming alcohol is considered sinful, whereas in non-Islamic countries this practice is widely accepted. On the other hand, a large number of people claim that parents should take on the responsibility to teach their children about right and wrong. Children begin to learn from a very young age prior to school age and adapt moral principles from the environment. For example, a child at the age of four will adapt to the habit of lying, unless the parent does not tell them about it's inappropracy. In summary, there has always been controversy about parental responsibilities. Individuals holds different perspective if it is the parent’s duty to provide their child with education about conscience. I believe coupled with the educational system, parents should undertake charges to talk to their children about right and wrong.