Nowadays many people chose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

There is a trend these days for individuals to opt for self-employment instead of being an employee in an organization mainly because of the flexible work routine and in order to avoid strict rules. Although, it has some merits, there are many drawbacks as well including a sedentary lifestyle and lack of incentives in the job. On the one hand, there are many folks who prefer to be independent in their work schedule, so that, they can plan things according to their own choice. For example, when we slept late at night after attending a function, my brother who is a free lancer had adequate sleep overnight, as he had the liberty to wake up late in the morning to start his routine. In addition, some people don't want to take orders from a boss.They want freedom from tough regulations that accompany an office job.To illustrate this, my cousin who was an assistant manager in a bank used to get written warnings from his superior on almost weekly basis for not finishing the tasks in time or coming late in the morning.He finally had to quit the post and start doing his own business. On the other hand, there is a tendency for self-occupied people to be lazy and lethargic.When no one is there to keep a check on them, they tend to be less active and energetic, which can lead to multiple health problems.One of my uncle, who runs a shop of his own in the city centre has gained so much wait after prolonged sitting that he can hardly manage to move around. Also, he has developed diabetes and hypertension because of obesity. Moreover, the independent workers cannot enjoy the perks and previleges offered by an institution.Many organizations like Defence department of Pakistan provide health, insurance and recreational packages for the welfare of employees and their families. Furthermore, solo-workers cannot afford to be away from their work for long duration due to financial constraints. On the contrary, the salaried calss can avail many months of paid leave for their private affairs.My colleague in a government hospital goes on a recreational leave every two month to spend quality time with his family. In conclusion, although the decision to remain independent in the job has few advantages including liberty of activities and timings, it has many demerits comprising of unhealthy habits and a lack of motivation in their profession.