Some people dislike changes in their society and in their own lives and want things to stay the same. Why do some people want things to stay the same? Why should change be regarded as something positive?

1. It is true that some people prefer to stay in the same environment for their entire lives. In this essay, I am going to explain the reason behind this behaviour and the positive aspects of change in people and society. 2. The main reason why people want to stay in their safe and secure place, is past failures. Sometimes this fear comes from people's childhood and sometimes from negative experiences as an adult. In the event that a child experiences an accident and loses a family member during their childhood, they might choose not to drive when they reach adulthood. Adults who start a business and end up in bankruptcy usually do not start a new business and prefer to be hired by someone else and stay in their comfort zone. Another example is people who have experienced an allergic reaction to a particular food and, as a result, avoid trying new cuisines. 3. Turning to the other side of this behaviour, change has many advantages for both individuals and society. society and the environment are changing fast and it improves all areas of our lives. For example, advancements in technology helped us to do online courses and remote jobs during the COVID-19 pandemic. From a personal perspective going through changes can help people to gain more knowledge and experience. For instance, if an employee gets a promotion, at the same with a heavier workload and change in the working environment, their quality of life would improve. In conclusion, while many people avoid vulnerability and risk in their lifetime as a result of past negative experiences, it has many benefits like improving life quality.