In many countries, people are now living longer than before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Constantly increasing live expectancy has become a hot debated issue nowadays. While some people believe that more elderly people in our society can lead to additional challenges that the government should tackle, other see this change as a great opportunity, that can benefit our society. In this essay I will argue that the advantages of increase in ageing population can outweigh the disadvantages, if companies adopt the working environment and recognize the retired people as a new market share with great potential. Most of the companies build the working environment for young or middle-aged people, taking under consideration that all the employees will leave the company as soon as they achieve the appropriate age. By changing this concept, companies may get more high qualified and experienced employees, that they do not need to train or promote in future. Furthermore, ageing people will continue to earn money and will not need to relay on pension or other government donations. I think that the advantage of keeping more elderly people as working force is clear and should be part of country policy. People at there third part of their life present a huge potential from shopping force perspective. Most of them do not have mortgage to pay or they do not need to support the study for their children. They have some savings and lots of free time, which make them a great market to provide services to. For instance, many elderly people like tourism, that can support both local and foreign businesses, bringing more tax to the country. The more services companies can provide to this constantly growing market, the more benefit both companies and local authorities will get. To conclude, I definitely see in rapidly growing elderly people population a potential customers and valuable working force, that can continue to support economy and benefit society we are living at.