Some poeple think universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. what, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Some individuals believe that universities should consider the preparation process to work market by giving graduates the knowledge and skills they need, while others support the view point that the main function of universities is to teach them the traditional curriculums. I would agree with the first trend, and I will elaborate on my opinion with relevant examples. Firstly, those who opine that universities should focus on providing learners with knowledge that will qualify them to obtain their certificates ignore that fact that the work market eligiabilty is of paramount importance, for instance, in Egypt, giant companies do not hire fresh graduates as they do not have the sufficient experience thay need, however many of them have studied full four years in university, and as a result of that many of fresh graduates are forced to work in different fields to gain experience. Moreover, work readiness should begin at early age before getting the degree, therefore educational organizations are not only for studies, but also for work preparation Secondly, recent analysis of the unemployement rate showed that the gape is quite wide between the courses that undergraduates study at universities, and the actual work market knowelege. For example, some curriculums still teach old methods of work such as booking financial transactions in sheets, whereas companies now are using software, therefore youth are not quilfied to integrate in workforce as lack of basic knowledge they need. If universities consider work readiness issue, many graduates will not suffer from unemployement. In conclusion, although studying has been the main function of universities for decades, they have a vital role to play nowadays. preparaing graduates for work market should be one of universities basic roles.