In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been a competition between industries to make the most innovative and distinct advertisement, claiming their products are the best than others, which is caused by market demand and financial purposes. It appears that this trend is sociologically and environmentally harmful. The phenomenon of businesses competing to make unique marketing is caused by multiple reasons. Firstly, if one company uses an eye-catching banner for instance, they will attract more people to window-shopping their goods and consider purchasing afterwards. Another example, studies have shown that in an industry with fine advertising management will sustain for 20 to 30 years more than their competitors. This way, producers will gain a high margin to their financial report continuously, benefiting themselves. Secondly, the current technological change leads people to analyze their products' preferences. One example, studies has shown that advertisements with artificial intelligence usage bring 75% more satisfaction to customers on making payment of a product. Regarding these causes, there are several drawbacks that the companies had not been aware of. First of all, the waste on clothes or food consumption, for instance, can contribute to a bad water cycle, causing a dreadful disease for animals worldwide. Admittedly, this is an environmental problem that takes a long time to cure. In addition, if people have the minimal ability to control their desire on shopping, there will be consumerism in the community. Eventually, people will be unaware of their economic consequences. To conclude, it seems that budgetary goals and people ’s requests are the main causes of the ongoing issue of industries stating their products are new. This situation will bring negative effects on the environment and society.