In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people no longer die early all round the world, the aged are increasing. While some individuals believe this trend causes troubles for the government, others argue that it is beneficial to the community. Personally, the profits are minimal when compared to its cons. There could be reasons for which having a more aged population bring a financial burden to the management, and a convincing one is that authority have to provide support for their basic needs like proper healthcare. Similarly, most of them monthly receive retirement pension. Therefore, when we have a large number of sick old people in society, the responsibility of the government remarkable increases. For instance, the majority of old age which will always use the health insurance scheme that is catered for by the executives. Consequently, the government spends plenty of money on insurances. Hence, more number of graybeard is a huge economic burden to the government. However, elders also have a positive influence on society, they can participate in some simple social volunteer activities which have a positive impact on building a better society. Volunteer activities involve maintaining community hygiene and supervising social security. But often fewer seniors actually assist activities than expected. Research in China have shown that the elders have a high willingness to attend it, with more than 70% of them would like to join. However, due to restrictions on participation channels, participation capabilities, the final percentage of participants is only about 40%. In conclusion, from my point of view that the merits of having aged people in our countries overweight its weak point. Because even though they can help social construction, they impose an economic burden that is difficult for the government to handle.