Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others ay that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give the reasons for your answer and include ant relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some say main environment issue of our time is the loss of species of plants and animals. While others say there are other important issues. Even though I accept with the latter point, this essay will discuss about both the views. On the one hand, losing animals and plants can alter the diversity of the environment, and can lead to an unbalanced eco system. It can lead to scarcity in plant and animal-based foods, resulting in death of many other organisms that relay on these animals and plants for food. In a bigger picture affecting human beings as well. For instance, in a study conducted by Harvard students regarding endangered species, it was found that, every time a species went extinct a minority of other organism’s dependent on it was in the verge of extinction. On the other hand, some may argue there are bigger environment problems to be concerned about, like the increase in temperature due to global warming, decrease in safe consuming water and other environment. These are more alarming factors to worry about, because we can clearly see our earth changing and becoming a unsuitable place to live in. These climate changes have led to disappearance of majority of ice bergs and made water unsafe for consumption. For example, in a article from The Times of India, more then 75% of ice bergs melted due to global warming, and sooner or later well have a deficit of pure drinking water. In conclusion, taking care of earth and surrounding species can lead to a safer less chaotic place to live in the future. Humans should understand they are the superior species in the race and start taking initiative for environment.