Providing children with pocket money on a weekly basis can benefit them in the future. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Giving away money on weekly basis would benefit children in future. I partially agree with this notion as this will help them in money management even though it might be small amount to manage and spend. However, proper guidance from parents on money expenditure is required. Firstly, many parents give a handful of money on weekly and monthly basis to their offsprings as they think that money is basic need which is true to greater extent. This will help them to properly cover all their basic expenses in controlled manner and this can be achieved only if adequate monitoring of money expenditure is done by parents. In addition to this, teenagers will get more experience in money handling affairs as they will have sufficent amount of money to spend. Secondly and even more imporantly though, if teenagers are left unattended with the money provided to them, given their age it would be disastrous as they would tend to become spend thrifters. According to my own experience, a salient example of spend thirfting which has been observed in my cousin who got more than enough money by his parents without any accountabilty and later I became witness of his economic downfall. In conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that although pocket money is beneficial for teenagers, parents should keep sharp eye on their offsprings to prevent them in becoming uncontrollable.