Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not some kids nowadays use plenty of hours to communicate with their smart devices. From my perspective, although this trend has some benefits for children, I think the negative side is even more dangerous. The main positive development of this issue is that children can relax their mind without their parents. In our modern society, dad and mom usually find it really hard to have time and play with their kids, because they spend their time working. But with a device, they can easily take care of their children without noticeable, anxious about that anymore. For example, instead of taking their children out to play and consuming a lot of time, they can even play at home and contact their smartphones. It's really comfortable and smartphones can help youngsters to play anything that they want, watch any videos that they like or even message with their friends without a conversation in real life. Despite the beneficial effects, I believe that the consequences of letting children spend too much time on their smartphones are much greater. First of all, using all the time on devices may cause children to have physical health problems. This will make their eyes become worse, the screen from smartphones has a negative brightness, when used too much can make a kid become blind. But children don't know about this consequence, they just take their time to play games and watch videos day by day, repeat and repeat, sitting in a place too much and don’t go out to contact with the sunlight will affect their eyes. The realistic example we can see is that every youngsters, for just about 3 years old, they may start to wear glasses, and their eyes become smaller. Sitting in a place too much also affects their physical health such as obesity, high blood pressure or even stroke, because of not exercising for a long time. Not only about their physical health problems, but also about their mental health too, using their tablets or smartphones make them stop communicating with other people such as their parents, friends. It can make them become more angry, stubborn, shy and immature, or even pessimistic because devices can not educate them how to control their emotions. Using smartphones too much can cause them to lack skills, they will not know anything about the outside world. To conclude, while I recognize the positive developments of smartphones to children, I consider it to be a negative effect on youngsters.