Governments spend an enormous amount of money on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money can be better spent on building new houses and developing roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Policy of governments is bedrock of economic development. It is, therefore, not surprising to see how it has caused a controversy among society about governments should spend money for renovation of old structure or developing new roads. Some people firmly support their argument, others adamantly object to it. I have solid reasons to agree with both two which are new facilities and historical heritage. To begin with, supporters of this matter strongly claim that new facilities link to development level of society. This is a very convincing argument because budgets' of governments are limited by taxes and incomes. It may be argued that this is very crucial as the fundamental responsibility of governments is spending money for a better life standard. Thus, improving quality of city life (by new facilities such as building new houses, developing roads) plays a significant role in this issue. In short, the advocates of this matter point out that limited money must spend necessary needs, this is a rational. On the other hand, opponents of this matter have a different point of view. They emphasize that old buildings are historical and cultural heritage of city. This is also a quite satisfactory argument depending on fact that renovation is profitable for governments because it can be use like museum, or art gallery. Also, governments shun from building a new apartment because it takes a lot of money compare to renovation such as new materials, new workers. It is worth stating that this is a persuasive point as economy policy is key point of these perspectives. In short, it can be concluded that aspect many as well as. To conclude, people have a totally different perspective on this situation. Nevertheless, when everything is taken into account, I am inclined to believe that there should be a deliciated balance between these two arguments.