Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollutions problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is argued that by raising the cost of petrol can reduce the problem of traffic congestion and pollutions, I totally agree with this statment. By increasing the cost of driving, public will have to seek for alternative, such as taking public transport. However, by merely adding the cost of driving is not enough, the government should optimize public transport,allowing people easier access and increasing willingness to use it. In order to reduce traffic jam or pollutions problem, the government should increase the petrol price and tax, that will then reduce people's desire to drive private vehicle because it is too costly. People will then consider taking public transport such as railway or bus. For example, in Hong Kong, the rate of petrol is highly taxed, therefore, the majority of people use public transport for daily commute. This can serve large amounts of people at once and is also more environmental friendly. However, by merely adding cost of petrol is not enough, in order to encourage people to take public transport, the transport system and infrastructures need to be prfounded profound pounded. For example, in Japan, the train system are very well established. It is very assessable, efficient, reliable and cost -friendly, therefore, people are more likely to use public transport compared to driving. In conclusion, not only by inflating the cost of driving can reduce congestion and pollutant emissions, but the government should also invest more on public transport infrastructure and develop a more reliable transport network, so that people will prefer using public transport over driving private vehicles.