In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

Nowadays, doping has become a major issue in the realm of sport, affecting athletes all over the globe. Not only does it have disastrous influence on the health of those who take such pills, but also it puts their careers at risk. To address the problem, I firmly believe that strict control must be provided. It is generally agreed that drugs have long-lasting negative impacts on the well-being of individuals, leading to insomnia, anxiety, stomach pain and other consequences. Even thought some pills may temporary improve sport performance, making muscles stronger or increasing stamina, they inevitably weaken health in the long run. Hence, sportsmen who use doping end up being in the worse form than their fair competitors. Another outcome for the drug-users is that they might be caught by the medical committee, which will prevent them from taking part in competitions. This means that their career will be paused or even finished, as well as their reputation will be spoiled. Accordingly, the mere possibility of facing these consequences is a nightmare for any professional athlete. Therefore, in regard to the possible solution, efficient measures of control should be implemented. For instance, blood tests must be taken more often than now, in order to ensure that there is no sign of chemicals. Furthermore, it is mandatory to check the way sportsmen are trained, since some trainers may have pro-doping approach. To conclude, performance-boosting pills are catastrophically dangerous for health and careers of athletes, so the fight against such drugs is a must. In my opinion, making control more effective is a possible way out, and I believe that one day the problem will be solved completely.