Some people say that increasing price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some would say that the best method for solving the traffic and pollution problem that is being caused by petrol use is to inflate its charge. This essay disagrees with that statement because it can because it harms lower middle-class society who need petrol in their everyday work. Furthermore, there is a better solution to stop the rising traffic and pollution dilemma. For example, the procurement of public transport. We need to remember that the only group of crowd who feel disadvantaged by the increase in gasoline prices is not the upper class because they can always afford to pay whatever the price of gas is. But it's the middle to lower community that is mostly affected by it. For instance, fishermen have to buy diesel fuel to sail. Therefore, surging fuel prices will only create new trouble A better solution to this problem is the development of reliable public transport. That way, the number of vehicles on the road will decrease. Moreover, congestion on the roads will be reduced and the quality of the air people breathe will improve. Take Jakarta for example, because of the MRT and LRT people now have an option other than to use their personal ride. In conclusion, This essay disagrees with this statement because it can be detrimental to lower middle-class population who need fuel for their daily work. Additionally, there are better solutions to stop increasing traffic and pollution issue. For example, providing public transportation.