Nowadays more and more children acquire unhealthy eating habits. Why is it happening? What can be done to solve this issue?

In this contemporary world, an increasing number of children are developing unhealthy dietary behaviours due to parental neglect referring to meals together with children lacking fundamental nutrition education. Yet, this can be tackled by the school adding nutrition educating curriculum for children. The root cause for more and more children having bad eating habits is how careless parents are when providing meals to their child. That is because with the heavy workload in today's fast-paced life, most parents find it struggle to spend their time planning and preparing meals for their families. With this in mind, parents tend to prioritize convenience over nutrition by frequently opting for fast food or unhealthy foods that are high-calories in their family's meal. Consequently, family meals and eating patterns can negatively shape children's attitdes attitude towards food in which a child become accustomed to and even turn to these convenient but unhealthy options. Another reason why there is an inclination to adopt unhealthy eating habits amongst children is the inadequate basic knowledge about nutrition possessed by a small child. In other words, unless having proper education about nutrition and healthy diets, children may not only lack the skills to prepare healthy meals and snack but also not understand the importance of making nutritious food choices. Moreover, unhealthy foods, with its delicious taste and attractive outlook, are far more appealing to children than other types of food. Thus, without a true awareness of nourishing food, the temptation of an unhealthy one is not likely to be resisted by the children. However, incorporating lessons on nutrition and healthy eating habits at school can help children break the habit of consuming unhealthy foods. Simply put, integrating nutrition education which cover topics such as the food groups, portion control, reading food labels or the benefits of a balanced diet allows children to learn about the importance of healthy eating anf the imperative correlation of this action with one's overall well-being. For instance, should the teachers ultilize a nutrient ladder recommended by the healthcare department as a demonstration when teaching children, those children will have a chance to know the essential nutrients needed for each day. In conclusion, more children acquiring an unhealthy eating habit stems from the dietary ignorance of parents coupled with the shortage of basic nutrition knowledge within a child and therefore, an additional curriculum focusing on educating about nutrition at school is required to address this issue.