Some people believe that people living in the twenty-first century have a better standard of living as compared to previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, developed technology allows people to live more easily and healthy, so some say that the living standard in 2000s is more sophisticated than that of the previous centuries while others decline with it. In my opinion, I fully agree with this statement and will explain why I believe so in this essay. Firstly, since the internet technolgy, such as online shopping or payment, is definitely beneficial for people’s lives, they can save the time of purchasing something which is essential for living and spend the time to do other things like playing outside with family. As an example, in 1990, products were only sold on site, thus people needed to go supermarket which was frequently far from their home. In contrast, they can easily obtain daily products with online shopping within five minutes right now, and they are allowed to utilize these time to work or have a chill. Thus, individuals in the twenty-first century have more free time than in 1900’s. Furthermore, transportation systems have dramatically been changed within the last a hundred years, and almost everyone can go to their distinations easier and faster than before. For instance, in Japan, they used Jinrikisya, which is a small car moved by humans, as their most common transportation method, but it took countless time. Therefore, Toyota, which is one of the most massive companies in Japan, invented a reasonable private car called Prius in 2000, and the time of transportation greatly reduced. Recently, Japanese commutes to their workplaces within one hour, which means that their living standards have significantly been improved. In conclusion, since there are two specific reasons why living standard has been increased nowadays, I strongly claim that living condition in 2000’s is obviously better than that of the past.